5 Best Teams in the History which were Deprived of the FIFA World Cup

By | April 21, 2018

Football is a fascinating game. Anything can happen anytime her. The world cup of the most popular sport is not less fascinating. The history of the FIFA world cup goes way back and it is glorious. However, in this glorious history few of the best teams missed out on winning the big cup of the game.

Football is always very competitive and not always the best team of the time wins the world cup. Most of the times FIFA world cups had dark horse teams winning the ultimate prize with their astonishing performances. There were few completely off beat performances where most favorite teams to win the cup had to go home empty handed. This is obviously sometimes due to the mistakes of the bigger teams in the competition. Also, as the football only is played once in four years, teams don’t get play it often to correct their mistakes.

Sometimes, sides played with some renowned players in the history of game without getting their hands on that world cup. These were the major disappointments in the football world of all time. For most teams the thirst for them to win one is still alive.

5 Best Teams in the History which were Deprived of the FIFA World Cup

Let’s look the top five teams that could have easily lifted that world cup. However, they had to be satisfied with going home empty handed. The following are those five best teams in the history which were deprived of winning a FIFA world cup even though they had everything going for them.

Portugal: The team from the years 2000 to 2006

Portugal The team from the years 2000 to 2006- 5 Best Teams in the History

Portugal’s best team began its dream run when it won 1989 and 1991 consecutive FIFA U-20 World Cups. This team was golden with players like João Pinto, Ricardo Sá Pinto, Luís Figo, Deco, Dimas, Vítor Baía, Rui Costa, Pedro Barbosa, Jorge Costa, and a budding Cristiano Ronaldo.

From the year 2000 this golden team has got into their own especially on the occasion of reaching Euro Cup semifinal where they defeated teams like Germany and England. Though their 2002 FIFA world cup performance was not great, this team had reached to Euro 2004 Final.

Portugal got out of World Cup 2006 in semi-final stage where they were defeated by France. Most of these players were playing for the clubs and were performing really well for their respective clubs. The void of not winning a world cup in their best times will always haunt Portugal.

Hungary: The team from the years 1950 to 1956

Golden_Team_1953-Hungary (1950-1956)

The golden generation of players for Hungary included Nándor Hidegkuti, Ferenc Puskás, Zoltán Czibor, Sándor Kocsis, József Bozsik and Gyula Grosics. This team had won the Gold medal in the 1952 Helsinki Olympics. This team was also nicknamed the Mighty Magyars.

In their golden era, they were only defeated once in six years. Incidentally, that was only match they lost was the World cup finals in 1954 against the West Germany which was back then famously called as “Miracle of Bern”.  West Germany was a team with amateurs at that time; Hungary slowly lost its number one rank to West Germany and started slipping to second and third spots.

This golden generation was effectively put to a sudden end by the 1956 Hungarian Revolution, when the nation ran out of the taste of a World Cup.

England: The team from years 2001 to 2010

England The team from years 2001 to 2010-Golden-Gen-featured

Rio Ferdinand the famous English players once said about the tag of Golden generation and we quote “It upped the expectations because people called us the Golden Generation and people expected us to win silverware. We had the players capable, but never set up in the right way,” he said. “It was a combination of things. The system was not right. I don’t think we played with freedom in an England shirt. We were trying to stop teams all the time.”  He has analyzed situation spot on.

English national team in their best years had few of the best players like David Beckham, Wayne Rooney, Paul Scholes, John Terry, David James, Michael Owen, Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard, , Jamie Carragher, Ashley Cole, Rio Ferdinand, Gary Neville and many more.

This team could easily be one of most underachieving golden generation of all the time. They were legends who couldn’t pick up the world cup even once during their tenure.

Netherlands: The years in 1970s

2014-World-Cup-Predicting-the-Netherlands-Starting-XI - The Netherlands (the 1970s)

The Netherlands team was among best teams in 1970s which was considered the golden generation had great players such as Johny Rep, Rob Rensenbrink, Ruud Krol, Willem Van Hanegem, Wim Jansen, Arie Haan,  Wim Suurbier, Jan Van Beveran, Jan Jongbloed and  Johann Neskeens. The team was basically led by the legendary Johan Cruyff and was coached by Rinus Michels.

The definitely played their best and mesmerized the world with their game. They were so good that the Carlos Alberto, the Brazil football team captain had this to say about the Netherlands team “The only team I’ve seen that did things differently was Holland at the 1974 World Cup in Germany. Since then everything looks more or less the same to me… Their ‘carousel’ style of play was amazing to watch and marvelous for the game.”

Argentina: The years from 2006 to present

Argentina The years from 2006 to present- argentina-FILEminimizer

Argentina has dream team . This team is very strong with great players like Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero, Gonzalo Higuain, Angel Di Maria, Javier Zanetti, Javier Mascherano, Carlos Tevez, and Javier Pastore . It is still astonishing to think that this amazing team has not won a world cup until now. Probably this time? The time will tell.

Dream run of golden generation kick started when they won consecutive Olympic gold medals at the Athens and Beijing. Other than that, they have also claimed big tournaments like FIFA Under-20 World Cup in 2005. But that was all at the youth level, in senior level they could get only to the finals of a world cup without winning.

Despite having legendary players on its side, this team has mostly been dependent on Messi. Messi’s hat-trick had got Argentina its current spot in this World Cup.

The FIFA World cup golden generations had a great run without having a world cup win. FIFA World Cup 2018 might change the course for a golden generation of some football best teams. FIFA World Cup 2018 has a golden generation team, Argentina team playing this time, which might have a chance of winning the world cup.

Also See: FIFA World Cup Quiz Club – It’s high time to check your knowledge

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *